Howard Hsu conducts the VSO.

The Distinctive Voice

September 19, 2015 at 8:00pm
in Whitehead Auditorium.

Brilliant violinist Jennifer Frautschi performs the exquisite Sibelius Violin Concerto, a work that hides a fiery passion under an icy exterior. The Brahms First Symphony marks the emergence of Brahms from the smothering shadow of Beethoven.
Symphony Notes
  • Ives Variations on America
  • Sibelius Violin Concerto in D Minor, Op. 47
        Jennifer Frautschi, violin
  • Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68
"With authority, she guided the audience on a whirlwind tour to various emotional destinations, negotiating every hairpin turn with a firm hand and a depth of insight."
--Pioneer Press